MRAC uses a peer-panel process to thoughtfully evaluate applications and make funding recommendations to our board of directors. Each year, we seek panelists to support the most critical components of our funding process. To learn more about our process and if this is something you would enjoy, check out the information here and let us know if you are interested. Please note that in FY21 all applications will be reviewed by panelists through an online rating and comment system; no in-person panels are scheduled.

MRAC’s panel policies can be downloaded at this link.

Information about our grant review process can be downloaded at this link.

Who can serve as a MRAC panelist?

YOU are a great candidate to be a panelist at MRAC if you:

  • are an artist, are employed or volunteer in the arts, or are an arts enthusiast
  • live in the 7-county Twin Cities Metro area
  • are at least 18 years old and
  • are dedicated to advancing equitable grantmaking across the Twin Cities Metro region

Those who identify as Black, Indigenous, People of Color (BIPOC), a person with a disability, Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual, Transgender, Queer, Intersex, Asexual/Agender, Two-Spirit (LGBTQIA2+), and/or live outside of Hennepin and Ramsey counties are highly encouraged to apply. We are happy to make accessibility accommodations to have you serve as a panelist if you have a disability.

We build very diverse panels and therefore seek individuals from a range of artistic disciplines, experiences in community, metro geographies, ages, genders, races, abilities, and ethnicities.

If you are involved with a group that applies to MRAC we would consider you a great panelist, but we also seek individuals who are not directly seeking MRAC funding.

What are the benefits for serving?

Panelists receive thorough training and in exchange for serving on a panel receive a stipend and if applicable, caregiver reimbursement. We sincerely thank you for your time and effort to review the grant proposals.

By serving you can expect to:

  • have a greater understanding about what makes a strong grant application
  • meet interesting people who also have an investment in the arts of our community
  • learn about a variety of arts groups, organizations, and projects
  • be empowered and prepared for this role through our trainings and support
  • be respected for your role in this important process

Over 90% of our panelists who serve ask to return again!

How much work is it to be a panelist?

It can easily be 25 hours of your time to serve as a grant review panelist. We acknowledge that this is a big time commitment and ask you to serve once per year at the most, but there is no requirement for serving more than once.

There is a 2 hour online training orientation where you learn about the grant criteria and how you are to assess your assigned applications.

Approximately 25 applications are assigned to be reviewed on your own time in preparation for your panel day. We estimate that it takes 30 minutes to assess each one of these approximately 5 page applications. Panelists are given approximately 4 weeks to review these applications and submit ratings and comments via an online grant portal.

How can I learn more about serving the arts community in this way?

If you are new to the MRAC panel and would like to be considered to serve as a panelist, please submit your information via this online form.

If you are a returning MRAC panelist, please contact Khin Oo, Panel Manager, at or 651-523-6380.

Panels are held throughout the year. You may hear from us quickly or it may take a while depending on when you inquire and when it aligns with our needs.

Thank you so much for your interest in serving the arts community as a MRAC grant review panelist!

THANK YOU TO FY21 Equity Response Round 6 Panelists

Daniel Tran, Halee Kirkwood, Juleana Enright, Margo Gray, Sam Stokley

THANK YOU TO FY21 Flexible Support Round 2 Panelists

Amirah Ellison, Amy McGarness, Anne Holzman, Anthony Marchetti, Austin Nash, Barbara Haugen, Barry Kleider, Basil Considine, Breanna Cecile, Briauna Williams, Brighton McCormick, Cigale Ahlquist, Daniel Adolphson, Daniela Bianchini, Dustin Steuck, Hannah Bassewitz, Jackie Johnston, Jeannine Burnette, Jennifer Ilse, Jes Reyes, John DuBose, Julie Kuenzel, Kevin Yang, Kimberly Peterson, Larry Weinberg, Leah Monson, Lynne Beck, Malik Watkins, Martha Bird, Melissa Dargay, Mitchell Frazier, Nicole Hoekstra, Nouf Saleh, Pamela Russell, Peg Schneeman Reagan, Phillip McGraw, Rachel Castro, Ryan Garmoe, Samantha Prudhon Falkowski, Sophia Ogren-Dehn, Tim Cooper, Yeeleng “G” Vue

THANK YOU TO FY21 Equity Response Round 5 Panelists

Daniel Tran, Donna Ray, Margo Gray, Naomi Ko, Quinn Villagomez

THANK YOU TO FY21 Equity Response Round 4 Panelists

Candida Gonzalez, Donna Ray, Halee Kirkwood, Naomi Ko, Sam Stokley

THANK YOU TO FY21 Flexible Support Round 1 Panelists

Amy Cousin, AP Paulson, Atlese Robinson, Bethany Gladhill, Chandler Daily, Charles Tirey, Cigale Ahlquist, Conie Borchardt, Courtney Kupsch, Denise Baerg, Dustin Steuck, Ishwari Rajak, Jennifer Ilse, Jim Tarbox, Julia M. Brown, Julie Andersen, Justine Lloyd, Katherina Vang, Leah Battin, Marco Real-d’Arbelles, Martha Bird, Megan Johnston, Mia Laufer, Monica Cruz Zorrilla, Ni’Kol Dowls, Samantha Prudhon Falkowski, Xianping He

THANK YOU TO FY21 Equity Response Round 3 Panelists

Juleana Enright, Margo Gray, May Ling Kopecky, Rodrigo Sanchez-Chavarria, Sam Stokley

THANK YOU TO FY21 Equity Response Round 2 Panelists

Daniel Tran, Donna Ray, Halee Kirkwood, Juleana Enright, May Ling Kopecky

THANK YOU TO FY21 Equity Response Round 1 Panelists

Christopher Harrison, Deneane Richburg, Naomi Ko, Margo Gray, Rodrigo Sanchez-Chavarria

THANK YOU TO FY20 Arts Project Support Round 3 Panelists

Abby Frank Taylor, Akiko Ostlund, Anitra Budd, Annie Moua, Arneshia Williams, Averie Mitchell-Brown, Carolina Gustafson, Connie Fullmer, Dan Pinkerton, Delta Giordano, Diana Siegel-Garcia, Doug Little, Dustin Steuck, Emma Marlar, Irna Landrum, Isela Xitlali Gomez, Jamie Marshall, Janet Grove, Jeff Ambroz, Julia Gay, Kajsa Jones, Karla Nweje, Karla Arredondo Payan, Kathy Mattson, Keila Anali Saucedo, Kevin Johnson, Loren Niemi, Madison Rubenstein, Marggie Ogas, Marjorie Simon, Michelle Maryns, Mona Smith, Pete Driessen, Ryan-Olivia McCoy, Susan Tarnowski, Suzanne Roberts, Ying Vu, Zhen Zou

THANK YOU TO FY20 Access Improvement Panelists

Alison Bergblom Johnson, Brighton McCormick, Claire Avitabile, Jaime Gjerdingen, Jenny Kinsella, Kim Peterson, Naomi Cohn, Philip Fried, Raymond Luczak, Sam Conrad, Tamra Falk, Terryann Nash, Tim Cooper, Zoë Koenig

THANK YOU TO FY20 Organizational Development Panelists

Alejandra Tobar Alatriz, Alex Buffalohead, Basil Considine, Bob Bierscheid, Brandon Boat, Conie Borchardt, Dan Adolphson, Debra Stone, Eva Song Margolis, Filsan Ibrahim, Genoveva Castañeda , Heidi Rich, Jasmine RuKim, John Nuechterlein, Jon Jee Schill, Juleana Enright, Mark Kausch, Mathew Janczewski, Mike Brown, Tom Loftus, Weily Grina-Shay

Skip to content