Next Step Fund Finalists Announced


Seventy-one artists have been named finalists for the 2019 Next Step Fund grant. 429 artists from across the 7-county metro area submitted proposals in this grant program. A panel review process encompassing a team of 20 artists from the community determined the 71 individuals who will move to the final round of the grant review, with panels being held on June 11 and 12. Approximately 35 awards will be announced on June 26, 2019.

The finalists represent artists working in a variety of disciplines and styles and were selected based on their proposed project intended to advance them to the next step in their artistic career.

2019 Finalists Include:

Sarah Abdel-Jelil, Tarek Abdelqader, Lamia Abukhadra, Aida Al-Kadi, Elizabeth Ashantiva, Lisa-Anne Bauch, Sumayyah Beck, Archie Bongiovanni, Aleksandr Brusentsev, Gregory Byers, Gisell Calderon, Rachel Castro, Candice Davis, Joe Davis, Luke Erickson, James Everest, Brian Farrey-Latz, Ashawnti Ford, Georgia Fort, Tia-Simone Gardner, Julia Gay, Parker Genne, Lorissa Gottschalk, deVon Gray, Jordan Hamilton, Sao Her, Jonathan Herrera, Asako Hirabayashi, Carolyn Holbrook, Jena Holliday, Maia Homstad, Tori Hong, Su Hwang, Jennifer Ilse, Hilal Isler, Rachel Jendrzejewski, bill jeter, tahiel jimenez, Taous Khazem, Sophia Kim, May Kopecky, Marc Levine, A.P. Looze, PaNa Lor, Heather MacKenzie, Dennis Madamba, Julian Manzara, Anthony Marchetti, Chris Martin, Wisdom Mawusi, Teresa Mock,  Sarah Nassif, Maria Pérez-Hedges, Drew Peterson, Junauda Petrus, Mary Prescott, Adam Rangel, Jes Reyes, Maribeth Romslo, Gary Ruschman, Christopher Selleck, Erin Sharkey, George Slade, Deja Stowers, Kaysone Syonesa, Bryan Thao Worra, Carrie Thompson, Mong Vang, Xiaolu Wang, Kaonam Ya-Vang, Alauna Yust

This grant program is made possible with support from the McKnight Foundation.

McKnight Foundation logo

Skip to content
%d bloggers like this: