Arts Achievement Award

Program Description

The MRAC Arts Achievement Award recognizes two organizations each year that particularly exemplify MRAC’s mission of increasing access to the arts in 7-county metropolitan area communities. 


Deadline(s) for this program have passed.

Program Directors

Organizations can be nominated or may nominate themselves for the MRAC Arts Achievement Award. Nominees must meet MRAC eligibility requirements for at least one other MRAC grant program. The MRAC Board of Directors reviews the nominations and selects up to two recipients.

Accompanied by a cash award of $5,000, the MRAC Arts Achievement Award is intended to call attention to outstanding contributions that arts organizations with budgets under $400,000 make toward strengthening communities in the 7-county Twin Cities metropolitan area (Anoka, Carver, Dakota, Hennepin, Ramsey, Scott, Washington). It is unlikely that any organization will receive this award more than once, but there is no limit to how often an organization may be nominated.

Application Workshops

There are no upcoming workshops for this program. Please contact your program director with questions.

Program Requirements & Eligibility

Unlike other MRAC grants, the MRAC Arts Achievement Award will not be given for specific projects or programs, but rather for the overall work that organizations are doing or have done to strengthen communities through the arts. Organizations should not be nominated for future activities.

To nominate an organization for the MRAC Arts Achievement Award, please submit a narrative of no more than three pages describing the organization being nominated, including a brief history of the organization and its programs, and how the organization is exemplary in: 

  • Causing artists and arts activities to thrive, and/or 
  • Integrating the arts into the social fabric and identity of a community or communities, and/or
  • Enhancing understanding of the public value of the arts.

Nominations must be received at the MRAC office no later than 4:30 P.M. on the deadline date. Nominations may be emailed to The Award(s) will be presented at MRAC’s Annual Meeting in July.